Tags

, , , ,

It’s been many years ago now, but I learned about the absolute coolness of patina the hard way. I had just begun selling antiques online and had found a lovely old antique tool. I brought it home and cleaned it, polished it, photographed it and then put it up for sale online. Within minutes someone had emailed me a statement that went along the lines of my using the word antique for a new item. What? “It’s an old item”, I proclaimed. Which received the immediate response “Then where’s the patina?”. Patina? What on earth is patina? On metals patina is otherwise known as tarnish or rust. Tarnish and rust is produced through the process of oxidation. On wood patina is produced by polishing, years and years of wear and polishing. Nowadays a person can buy products to apply to metals, even wood to force the process of oxidation and wear. Well, I learned a very valuable lesson that day, so long ago, that helped me to become quite successful at selling antiques online. This post is dedicated to all things that have stood the test of time, as they so proudly stand bearing the lovely colorful layers we now know as patina.

I’ll be traveling this weekend to Toronto to visit friends and also spend Saturday at the Interior Design Show- the details are here.

I’ll be sharing my post at A Stroll Thru Life on Tuesday and Rooted in Thyme on Friday.

patina 1 patina 2 patina 3 patina 4 patina 5  patina 7patina 6 patina 8 patina 9 patina 10 patina 12
patina 11

Source Source Source Source Source Source Source Source Source Source Source Source

