Tags

, , , , , , ,

Never am I more comfortable then when I am in an old building, or a warehouse loft. Personally I love the industrial decor style, and even though some may feel it lacks warmth, I tend to feel all snuggly when I’m surrounded by it. Maybe it’s the old timbers, the machinery, or floor to ceiling windows? I love wood, real wood flooring and old wood built-ins. I’m not one for painting wood (ever), I enjoy it’s soft warm grain too much to cover it up. I love metal, it’s strong and it’s masculine. Need I say more? This week I thought I would juxtapose industrial with mercury glass. Mercury glass is glass that is double-walled and has silver blown between the layers. It began being produced around 1840 and of course today is reproduced in many ways. I have an antique mirror circa 1918 that I love and have since purchased many reproduced mercury glass Christmas ornaments. Mercury glass in my opinion feels somewhat industrial to me, in that it too warms a room, in contrast it reflects(albeit distorted) rather than succumbs to the soft patina of aging wood and steel. What do you think?

industrial-5 industrial-6 industrial-8 industrial-3 industrial-4merc-1  industrial-7 merc-3industrial-2 merc-4 merc-5 merc2

Source Source Source Source Source Source  Source Source Source Source Source Source Source

